Newspaper Article

I am excited to announce that an article about my new career as a writer appeared in the online version of the Charlotte Observer today. It will be in the print version next Wednesday. Marty Minchin interviewed me back in September, and I had been waiting with bated breath. I am really happy with her article.

I had been interviewed before, by my friend Bill Bartee from Jesse Brown’s Outdoors (my go-to camping store) for the Carolina Outdoors program that he hosts on WBT Radio, AM 1110, FM 99.3. Even though it was recorded live and broadcast unedited, it was a lot like sitting around shooting the breeze with Bill and Don.

This was different. Interviewing for a different medium, Marty had the opportunity to conduct a more in-depth and wider-ranging interview. So first of all, you do not want to come across as a rambling, quasi-incoherent, blathering idiot. I think I accomplished that, although it may have been touch and go a couple of times. Marty, like Bill and Don, made the process a real pleasure.

Well, now the article is out there, and I must admit that it is somewhat of a surreal experience reading an article about yourself and seeing yourself quoted in print. newspaper stories are about other people. It is also an interesting glimpse of how others see you, what someone else finds interesting in your story.

Here is a link to the article. I hope you enjoy it. Let me know what you think.

http://www.charlotteobserver.com/news/local/community/south-charlotte/article37331604.html

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

